How can I close my Stripe account?
We hate to see you go, but if you want to close your account with Stripe the owner of the account can always do that by going to the data tab in your business settings and selecting “Close this account…”
Only the account owner can delete an account; team members cannot.
Remember that closing your account won’t prevent scheduled payouts from happening (e.g., if you closed your account today, a payment you accepted yesterday would pay out to your bank account as normally scheduled), but you will not be able to retrieve any information about your account going forward. You will also still be responsible for any refunds that are issued, or disputes that arise. Due to this, we would normally suggest simply leaving your account dormant rather than closing it, as this makes it easier for you to be responsive when these situations occur.
You can read more about the effects and responsibilities of closing your account in our terms of service.
If you use Stripe through a third-party application, it’s important to emphasize that closing your Stripe account only closes the Stripe account itself. It does not close any accounts for third-party products you may have connected to your Stripe account. Correspondingly, deleting your account with a third-party product does not delete the Stripe account connected to it. The only way to close a Stripe account is from the Stripe dashboard, as outlined above.
Once a Stripe account is closed it cannot be undone. You can, however, export the data in your account to a CSV file before you close it.